//never too old for a snow day

24 Feb

I don’t care how laughable my still-grass-poking-out-deep snow is, school IS cancelled! I suppose that is the beauty of being in public education (besides summer break of course); all of that great equalizer and closing the achievement gap hope seems to be secondary this morning. Last night I wanted a snow day so I could sleep in. This morning, I woke up to my alarm at 5:25 to go to my work out, looked outside and have been wide-eyed ever since. I’m just too excited.

My grandparents live about three and a half hours north (I know I should have used miles for this term of measurement, but I have no idea, okay?) and they’ve reported 17 inches! I will admit I am slightly jealous of that. My cherry on top would to know a near by frozen over lake to go ice skating on. Check out this brilliant winter ice skating party idea:

all photos by geneve hoffman featured on the sweetest occasion

This is such an incredibly simple idea, yet so magical. I am definitely going to have a cup of hot chocolate today!

3 Responses to “//never too old for a snow day”

  1. Jeff 24 February 2011 at 9:01 am #

    Your post takes me back to my childhood. Every winter my dad would make a huge skating rink in our back yard. The neighborhood would show up to play hockey, and I recall many bloody noses and burt tongues from scalding hot coco. It sounds strange I know, but I am fond of those memories.

    • catie: portland. 24 February 2011 at 2:28 pm #

      Jeff, I LOVE hockey. Somehow I am fond of those memories.

  2. Maria 26 February 2011 at 12:00 am #

    bring back old brawny man!!

Leave a Reply

