//happy valentine’s day

14 Feb

So I was thinking about it, and even though I give Valentine’s day a lot of flack now days, I remember a time when I loved it. Elementary school. It was one of my favorite times of year, purely because I got to decorate my very own shoe box or paper bag. With that in mind, this year I wanted a simple way to tell those close to me I care. This is my twist on the box of chocolates or suckers for the modern Valentine.

This is a really cheap idea with most supplies being things you have lying around the house. I got the boxes at a craft store for 75¢ and the valentine style ribbon at the same store for $1. I used a gold paint pen to decorate the boxes with uncomplicated patterns. I would have maybe tried something more sophisticated but I was afraid the pen would die after I’ve used it all week on another project and getting carried away doodling because they’re so fun! I used tissue paper I had from home and cut wax paper into squares to line the boxes.

On the tops of the boxes, as well as the insides, I wrote some short & sweet messages personalized for each recipient. I used stamps and micron pens (which are amazing! unfortunately they can run between $15 and $20 at the store but I bought 2 packs, a black and a color on amazon for $8 or less)

Next, I went to my friendly neighborhood store to buy a variety of fillings in bulk. Everyone I had wanted to shop for has such different tastes. On the left, I got some peanut clusters and peanut butter malt balls and on the right, some dried sweetened cranberries and walnuts. Each box had something different (I spent around $20 for 5 boxes worth of fillings-with some left overs of course). It would be great to also use savory snacks. Now, you know when you go to a market/co-op type store and buy flowers, they wrap them for you in a sheet of brown paper and tissue? Well I always save those things, and for the “more perishable” foods, I used that tissue because it’s different in texture, waxier, I didn’t know how the regular tissue paper would hold up with foods like strawberries. 

and Violà! a small gift, for really any occasion or thank you.

2 Responses to “//happy valentine’s day”

  1. Alyssa Elliott 14 February 2011 at 4:48 pm #

    Unbelievably cute. I love it!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Maria 14 February 2011 at 9:29 pm #

    so thoughtful. so cute. + the best peanut clusters i’ve ever had!!

Leave a Reply

